What I have been doing lately…

Faith.

I don’t know where to start. Blogging has been inconsistent, but its like at least life is happening. I just do not have time (so i say) to write about it. Yet I find that when I wrote about the experiences, the growth, and trials that I have been brought in and through there was as testimony to share of that. So here I go. 

We will start with this summer. 

This summer I learned what love is. Passing definitions, passing actions, passing relationships, passing what I thought love is. Love is God. We totally get that from scripture. But I never knew how pure love is. Love is more than romance, love is more than the giggly feeling you get when you are around that someone you think you are in “love” with. Yeah yeah this is another tacky blog about love. I don’t care. This is what God has brought to my attention in my walk with Him and among His creations. I wrote about 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 a while back, but now I am able to teach, and use this scripture in my life. I lead a Discipleship group through Wesley last year. I was all about feed them, feed them, and feed them more. It never did occur to me that at the time I am feeding, I also need to be interacting with them. Interaction. One of the most overlooked words in a Christians vocabulary. Interaction for the Christian should automatically involve love. In the beginning of 1 Corinthians 13, it says “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but HAVE NOT LOVE, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal” The next two verse we will see a similar theme….Have all faith, but HAVE NOT LOVE I gain nothing, or in 3, if I give everything I have away, which is what modern day Christians have misinterpreted as being “radical” and sometimes think this is being obedient, Paul goes on and says “but have not love”, I gain nothing. Leading dgroup I learned if I teach them and prepare them for the future, and if I pray for them, and if I hand them books, and papers of how they can become a more effective Christians, but if I don’t love them, and interact with them that does nothing for the furthering of Gods kingdom. This also applies to Christians in evangelizing. I met up with a dear friend at a coffee shop recently and we chatted about Christians and our foreign language we have. We use this in our prayers, in conversations with other Christians, but when telling a person “just experience God” that doesn’t work because they 1) have not yet been given the faith 2) might not really understand or care to understand this type of Christian terminology. My question is the way we understand love is by the grace of God. We know love because we know God. We love because He first loved us. How are unbelievers able to comprehend this type of love, if they have not God? Which leads me to prayer. And 1 Corinthians 13 mentions that; “if I have all faith” which is believing prayer enduring prayer struggling prayer. Prayer that intercedes for the unbeliever. Prayer that is persistent, which leads me to 1 Corinthians 12:9 where Paul is describing the gifts. Believing prayer is prayer that is given to us by God for God, God who is love, and who is also just sees these prayers. He loves it when we pray. When we love unbelievers, in that love we will stand with them alongside Jesus Christ before God in our prayers. Asking constantly, begging God that He would give us faith to endure, and them faith to see the light that is His Son. Actions without love is a heart without blood. It exists, but it doesn’t function. 

to God be the glory, who is greater than all,

Taylor Cain

 

 

 

Image

Categories:

Leave a Reply

