A Prayer for a Worried Mind

I am not in control. I did not make my mind, nor do I cause the little atoms to move, or the blood to flow. It is You God who controls the mind. I am proud, arrogant, quick to judge, and I love to control the what I think would be the future. Then I let what I think or assume affect those around me even the girl I say I love. Lord I know my mind is being used by my sinful flesh as a means to hurt and not to help. Therefore I hurt because the the assumptions I make, and the assumptions I make more times than not I want them to be true. Because I am more concerned with being right than I am with helping others. That is both true in studying my Bible, and loving another person. Help me Lord, renew my mind, and make me think like Christ. Help me to fight the little luring thoughts that put me on a path to think about the things that are not above. I need You to direct my mind away from the things that are below. Even in my thoughts help me to treasure You there. My mind as well as my words are powerful. They can wound, and they can heal. They can cause depression or they can encourage. So Lord by Your Spirit guide my mind. Guide my thoughts. Bring purity to my hands, body, and soul. I want to think about You always. I want to then make my decisions based on my meditations of You and what Your word holds. I am not consistent in these things so help me. I need faith, Lord. I need grace to do these things. I am not being a man of action, but assumption. This doesn’t help me to go forward, but causes me to be idle. Idle in my wicked thoughts. Idle in my prayers. Idle in my reading. Idle in my friendships. So help me to be active in my obedience of Your pure, and Holy Word. In the Name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

“Now concerning food offered to idols: we know that “all of us possess knowledge.” This “knowledge” puffs up, but love builds up. If anyone imagines that he knows something, he does not yet know as he ought to know. But if anyone loves God, he is known by God.” 1 Corinthians 8:1-3

Leave a Reply

