It’s Been Awhile

I’m thankful for your readership. Maybe you do not know me. I apologize for those who do and I have lacked keeping in touch. There are two convictions of mine in this blog post and my first one is not being diligent about keeping in touch with friends who have made an impact in my life. May God be glorified, praised, blessed, and honored for He has given me my reason. 

At the end of the days I, Nebuchadnezzar, lifted my eyes to heaven, and my reason returned to me, and I blessed the Most High, and praised and honored him who lives forever, for his dominion is an everlasting dominion, and his kingdom endures from generation to generation;” Daniel 4:34

I haven’t been in touch on here lately with the faithful few that read these posts about my life. If you are reading this and want to chew on something real then this might be something worth your time. I am not use to writing about myself. I am not usually good out openly writing about my life unless it has to do with something incredible that God has done in my life that I think is worth writing, and for you worth reading. I know you don’t have much time to read. Life is pretty busy for you. In the mornings newspapers use to cover the kitchen table like a Thanksgiving meal spread. Now we do not have time to read. Unless we are reading for school or for work we don’t get a daily dose of healthy reading in. Even though reading is literally available in our hands whenever we want we usually don’t take the time to read something that may change our lives. Now I encourage others to read about people’s lives. God does some pretty interesting things in other’s lives that are spilled out in an open blog. However, let me correct myself. You do read. You do read about other people. Many of you are not new to social media. Therefore everyday you either pickup you’re smartphone or log on to your personal computer to catch up on what your friends have been doing lately. Has something new happened since you’ve last checked….8 hours ago? The point of this post is not you reading, but what you read. Your time should be precious. I hope to persuade you that what you read compared with how much you read are two totally different things. This is a segue into what this blog post is really about.

So I hope you are still reading. Maybe you agree with me. Maybe you find that what I am about to write down may give you energy, inspiration, or help through the day. Maybe you have found 10 minutes in school, at your desk, or on break at work to stumble across the 1000 words that make up this blog post. I am glad you have found your way here. I pray that these yellow words on this white page will be water to your roots. May they help you grow in your faith in His power.

In 300 words you will get to decide if you will respond to a conviction. A conviction that I have had for a long time now. A conviction that I have not thought more on than acted. A conviction that is brings forth deadly consequences if I do not recognize the Word that the conviction is birthed from. Sin is sin as black is black. Grace is covers like light will invade wherever there is no light. What is my conviction? I am not God. I am not God in every way that I could not be God. I am not God. I do not have total control of everything. With the control I have I misuse and it hurts me. I am not God. I cannot speak and things happen or move. But when I speak sometimes it hurts people. I am not God. My knowledge is but that of a flea about astronomy compared to the omniscient God. My knowledge causes me to sin because pride kicks in. I am not God. I do not create things out of nothing. The things that I make are at times out of selfishness. I am not God. I do not stick to my plans, but God sticks to His plans and promises. I am not God. He loves with a love that I could never love without. I am not God. God forgives and at times I find it hard to. I am not God. He has made a way in His Son. He has carried out His covenant throughout the ages through Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, David, and has shown His great love in Jesus Christ. Jesus Christ the Son of God, the word of God, God in flesh, God with us, and the Eternal God has been a propitiation for His people. He was the penal substitution for us. He wasn’t Himself when all along I have been for myself. He gives us opportunity to repent. He enables us through the power of His Spirit to turn away from sin. Our Father sees Christ instead of us now that we are His. Will you remember that God is God and we are not. Look what He has done in His word for His people.  Look at the same grace that is for you and I today. If you are one of His people do not forget that glory has been about Him the whole time. It’s been awhile since I have stopped and reflected on His great grace that keeps my hand off His when I feel like I have the ability to move it where I want it to go.

 “all the inhabitants of the earth are accounted as nothing and he does according to his will among the host of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth and none can stay his hand or say to him, “What have you done?”-Daniel 4:35

Leave a Reply

