So you think your job in seminary is pointless

I work at a factory where I run a machine that packages panty hose. And I don’t like telling anyone what I do. I graduated from college with a bachelors degree in journalism. I wanted to be a news writer. That never happened. My plans after college was to go to seminary. Then I met a young girl who I wanted to marry. I couldn’t find a news writing job and so I had to pick the next best thing. I went after the first job that was offered to me. There are days that I want to quit, but God has used this job to provide for my wife and I. This job allows me to have time in the evenings to work on class work. I work during the day which makes me available to meet up with others to disciple. Since December I have been on working 6 days a week which have discouraged me. But O all the more reason to be thankful for another 8 hours to share the gospel.

Next month marks the 2 year anniversary since I started working at HanesBrandsInc. This job has had its ups and downs. I have had the opportunity to share the gospel with a hand full of people. I haven’t seen much fruit. However I have seen men and women working away from sin and relying solely on Jesus. There are a variety of people that come from a church background. However these people avoid the church due to being “hurt” by the church or concluding that the Bible isn’t truth. I have heard things like “the Bible is 2000 years old how can we trust it?” or “I am a Christian, but I also believe that I don’t have to go to church.” There are a lot of misguided people where I work. But God has led me to this job for His good purposes.

If I claim to believe that God is sovereign I cannot discount the fact that He is sovereign over leading me to this out of the ordinary job. I cringe every time I am asked about what I do. I usually just quickly tell them I am taking seminary classes and I am moving on campus in a couple of months. It helps me, but I shouldn’t be ashamed of God who establishes my steps and directs my paths.

Awhile back I was able to meet up with a guy who graduated from Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. God used this guy to encourage me. We discussed how God gives us jobs during seminary for our good and not to frustrate us. God had led him to a job to minister to Korean immigrants who owned a donut shop. God will take us even when we think we know how to lay out our own life and flips it. He does this to show us that we need to fully depend on Him and trust in His goodness in our jobs.

Like God uses our marriages, and friendships; God uses our jobs to sanctify us. These are opportunities that I wouldn’t have otherwise. I have thought hard on why God has me at this job and how I need to be focused these last months I am working here. Too often we neglect being obedient where God has placed us because we are focused on where we want God to place us. Everyday I am seeing the Lord help me in my contentment. He is using this job to show me that even factory workers need the Gospel too. Whatever job God leads us to in the future no matter how unglamorous it may seem, it is never pointless.

Leave a Reply

